Wishing You A Very Happy New Year!

Posted on December 31, 2012

0


NewYearsEve1If you are with the majority of people who think New Year’s Eve is an overrated, over expensive night, you’re probably having a quiet one tonight. But if you are venturing outside, as always, it’s going to be a busy night. This year I am going to be facing the crowded streets of Leeds. However, I am one step ahead this as I have booked my tickets in advance *smiles smugly*. Yes, there’s nothing worse than walking round the puke filled streets of a city centre on New Year’s Eve with nowhere to go because everywhere is either full or overpriced. I know because, sadly, I have spent far too many New Year’s doing exactly that.

New Year’s Eve creeps round every year with an enormous amount of pressure. “What are you doing this New Year’s?” people ask over and over. I have a friend who claims she doesn’t believe in celebrating New Year’s Eve. Each year she lets it pass by like any other night, and I can’t say that I’m not a little bit jealous. What I really want to do is welcome in the New Year in front of a raging fire with a good book – is that terribly sad? So this year I have decided to give New Year’s Eve one last chance to clean up its act before we part ways for good. New Year’s, it’s over to you.

Posted in: Art and Culture