Going Veggie For Lent

Posted on January 7, 2013

0


BillsEverydayAsianAU_21

I will attempt to cook Asian-style cuisine like the food in Bill’s Everyday Asian cookbook

I don’t usually give up anything for lent. I once tried to give up crisps years ago, and it didn’t go very well (carbs when drunk are a must, after all). But this year I have decided to give up meat for lent, and I’m determined to stick with it until lent is over.

I’ve been thinking a lot about how I feel about meat recently. My attitude towards it has changed over the years, to the point where every time I eat something with meat in I think about where it has come from and if it has been ethically treated. I suppose it’s hard to find out if a product has been ethically treated, but I can hazard a guess that 9 times out of 10 it hasn’t.

More recently it has been reported in the news that TESCO’s value range beef burgers contain 29% horse. The strange findings have caused confusion amongst almost everyone I have spoken to on the matter. The thought of how it actually got into the burgers get me to thinking about a range of theories which tend to get more elaborate the more I think about them. But perhaps these theories aren’t so elaborate. Afterall, why would horse meat be found in an innocent beef burger? And, therefore, is there ever such thing as an innocent manufactured meat-based product?

This year lent will run from February 13th until March 30th. Lent begins the day after I get back from Italy, meaning that while I am away I am free to try all the amazing Italian cuisine without any restrictions.

What I’m really looking forward to is getting creative with the dishes I cook. I’m going to have to use different herbs and spices to create more flavour in my food. And I’m going to invite my friends who hold a more cynical view on vegetarianism round for dinner one night. I think for this particular dinner I will try to experiment with Asian cooking, which means I will finally get to use the dusty Asian cookbook sitting on my bookshelf.

Posted in: Art and Culture