A Print To Remember: Vrindavan By Seb Koseda

Posted on January 30, 2013

0


P1000316

I took a trip to Leeds Gallery on Saturday on 19th January to check out the annual Print Festival. The festival ran from Friday to Sunday, but on Saturday 19th the artists’ showcased their work during an exhibition. Guests were invited to look at work throughout the day and could buy most of what was on show, or you could simply peruse through the cool prints. Amongst the wide variety of comical, colourful and insightful prints was India by Seb Koseda.

The work of Koseda really stood out for me while I was at the Print Festival. I’m not sure if it was the effective simplicity, the bold choice of colouring or the Indian heritage that attracted me to Koseda’s work in particular. I suppose it was a combination of factors, however, Koseda created something that instantly drew me to India.

The work of graphic designer Seb Koseda went on show, along with others, as part of the new print-based works at the exhibition. Others include London-based designer and screenprinter Dan Mather, illustrator Robbie Porter and surface pattern designer Sarah Milton. I went back to the gallery later in the week when it was quieter to take a few pictures of the Vrindavan collection.

P1000347

Vrindavan by Seb Koseda

P1000351

I love the simple yet effective designs, and the bold contrasting colours instantly caught my eye.

P1000349

I think the prints look intriguing in this hazy orange light. I’m still getting to grips with the complicated functions on my camera, and to  be honest I think the camera was on the wrong setting when I took this photo. None the less, I thought it was interesting to see the prints in this light rather than the usual crisp, clear appearance.

P1000355

This print is my favourite print from Koseda’s collection. This is the perfect example of how simple design can often be more effective than an overcomplicated one. I love the boldness of the green circle in the centre of the hand, creating a powerful image.

P1000354

‘Horn OK Please’ is a phrase you may see painted on the odd truck, van, bus or car while in India. This phrase is used as a way of telling other drivers to sound their horn if they want to overtake. There are many different theories as to how the phrase originated. One thing we do know, however, is that this phrase is well and truly now a part of India’s heritage.

P1000357

Another collection of prints I found interesting at the exhibition were those by Robbie Porter. From L–R: Lost Keys for Locked Doors, Friends and Foes, Creepy Crawlies and Lost and Found.

Posted in: Art and Culture