Ciao Bella!

Posted on February 13, 2013

1


P1010019

It’s been quiet around here recently. A little too quiet. And for those of you who haven’t been following my adventures, I have just returned from a 10-day trip city sightseeing in Italy. I’ve been thinking a lot about the appearance and style of my blog recently, and I hope you like the new changes I have made. In-between time spent exploring Milan, Florence and Rome I was able to think about the direction I want to take my blog in. And when I got back from my trip last night I couldn’t wait to get started on the changes I have been planning. I am going to be looking at developing the blog even further in the coming weeks, so watch this space!

Today I have been catching up like a madman on articles and projects that are due in soon. Any time spare has been spent reading short stories for a Quick Reads project I am involved with. Launching tomorrow (14th February), Quick Reads will release six new short books by bestselling authors in an attempt to introduce millions of people to the joys of reading.quick reads

The project is a great way to re-introduce reading to people who are perhaps intimidated by reading, or who find that they don’t have much time to read in today’s busy modern society. Overall I think the project is a great way of getting people back into reading books again so that they may then go on to read longer stories.

Reading books, particularly fiction ones, is a great way of creating escapism. I can’t imagine a life without fiction, and I hope the project gets many people back into reading again.

The 2013 Galaxy Quick Reads titles released this Thursday are:

  • Love is Blind by Kathy Lette
  • Wrong Time, Wrong Place by Simon Kernick 
  • A Dreadful Murder by Minette Walters
  • A Sea Change by Veronica Henry
  • Today Everything Changes by Andy McNab
  • Doctor Who, The Silurian Gift by Mike Tucker

chocolatesOh, and priced at £1 a book these books are economically priced and make for great coffee shop reads.

Lastly…

Even though I have been busy today I made time to pop out to Kirkgate Markets to pick up my prize for winning a riddle contest on Twitter (the camera really doesn’t show the niceness of the prize). I got this lovely tree of chocolates and marshmallows, which I will be no doubt enjoying later after a delicious meal made by Chef. He thinks this constitutes as a Valentine’s Day gift. It does not.

Posted in: Out and About