Is It Time To Transform Yet?

Posted on April 10, 2013

5


trans

Brought to you by the letter ‘I’

It’s that time of year again; birds and humans are tweeting, grass is growing and the sun is briefly poking its head from out of the clouds. However, it’s also time for the third annual Transform festival at the West Yorkshire Playhouse.

The third Transform festival will explore the idea of My Leeds, My City. The festival will showcase work from promising directors, theatre artists and writers aiming at ‘examining the city through a theatrical lens.’

Performances will be held inside and out of the theatre, but they will all be within walking distance. The aim is to discover a side to Leeds that you didn’t know existed, so guests should expect to see sites that usually blend in to the background from a different perspective.

Recently, I submitted a short play as part to the West Yorkshire Playhouse. I submitted my work in response to a call out for plays no longer than 15 minutes that ultimately will be performed during the Transform season. I think it’s great that the theatre gave everyone a chance, from amateurs such as myself to professional writers, to submit work to the Transform festival.

My play may not have been chosen for a script in hand performance at Transform, but the festival guarantees to showcase many emerging talents – so you may just catch a star in the making. You can check out the list of events at Transform festival by following the link below. Events are being held all over the city centre, so even if you don’t consciously pick an event to attend you may end up there anyway!

Transform will run from 16/04/2013 – 27/04/2013.

Posted in: Events