Leeds Town Hall Presents The Orchestra Of Opera North

Posted on April 13, 2013

6


orchestra

The Orchestra of Opera North

Brought to you by the letter ‘L’

I know I’m bringing you lots of information on events happening in Leeds at the moment, but there’s so much going on! Today is a great day for many reasons; firstly because it is my birthday, and secondly because for one night only the fabulous Orchestra of Opera North come to Leeds Town Hall.

The orchestra will play the sounds of Mussorgsky, Prokofiev and Tchaikovsky to guests in the beautiful setting of Leeds Town Hall. Tickets are still available ranging from £12.50 – £31.50. Respected conductor Michail Jurowski will perform with the orchestra which starts at 7.30pm this evening.

When I went to watch Verdi’s Otello at the Leeds Grand Theatre in January I thought the orchestra was remarkable. I didn’t really appreciate classical music and the opera until my experience at the Grand. After going to the opera I had a whole new perspective; the music moved me unlike any other type of music I had previously experienced. I’m glad that The Orchestra of Opera North was my first experience of a live orchestra because they opened my eyes to a whole new genre of music – one I would like to experience more of. I would recommend anyone going to watch them play.

Programme:

Mussorgsky Night on a Bare Mountain
Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 3 in C
Tchaikovsky Symphony No.5 in E minor

Posted in: Events