Now At Leeds Gallery – The Feast

Posted on April 16, 2013

1


Brought to you by the letter ‘N’

The Feast, an exhibition that aims at smashing the concept that artists only work in 2-dimensions, is showing at Leeds Gallery until Friday 26th April. The Feast attempts to take you into the mind of the artist, allowing you to see what they see. Thus the concept behind the exhibit is a “visual feast for the eyes”.

I thought I’d go along to the gallery to fest my eyes on the exhibit of the moment. Below is a collection of my favourite pieces from the exhibit.

P1010519

One wall was covered with very interesting charity screenprints, printed by Nick Jobbings and designed by various artists. The prints are £25 each and 50% of the sale goes to the ‘Supporting Sam’ charity.

P1010522

The Lord Whitney collection includes contemporary pieces such as ‘Fill Your Boots’ (the red wellies on the left) and ‘The Gravy Train’ towards the front of the picture. Lord Whitney is a collaboration between artists Amy Lord and Rebekah Whitney.

P1010523

On this wall prints include ‘Magic Toucan’ from Matthew the Horse (print on the left) and ‘Tree House’ from Rabbit Portal (above right).

P1010524

Rabbit Portal also created ‘Sleeping Logs’, hand sawn pine and silver birch logs that are available to buy for £10 each. Rabbit Portal is described as an animator, mural maker, painter, visual and problem solver. He creates music videos – animations – illustrations – murals.

P1010526

This print made me smile when I saw it and really caught my eye. ‘I Already Blogged That Last Week’ is another print by Rabbit Portal. I though that the digital prints in this collection were very funny, and I wanted to take them all home with me so I could make my very own Rabbit Portal exhibit! The prints are priced at £20 each.

Leeds Gallery, Munro House, York Street, LS9 8AG

Posted in: Art and Culture